Ian Ritchie Architects

Search icon

Brunel Awards

Ian Ritchie was a member of the International jury for the 8th Brunel Awards, held at the Academie d’Architecture in Paris on 5th and 6th July 2001

The Brunel Awards were established in 1985 by the Watford Group of International Railway Architects and Designers, based in Paris, to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Great Western railway in England. They are named after the celebrated British engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel who was founder and designer of the Great Western Railway which he built to provide an intermodal transport system with his own steamship line based in Bristol between London and New York. The Brunel Awards are open to national railway companies worldwide. Queen Elizabeth II presented the first awards in Bristol in 1985. Since then they have been Presented in Austria, Holland, Japan,Spain, USA, Denmark and this year in Paris, France.

The members of the jury were:

The jury was supported by an international technical committee.

The jury considered over 200 projects worldwide in 4 sectors:-
Architecture, Graphics, Industrial Design and Art, Engineering and Environment and Rolling Stock.
It awarded 9 prizes, several commendations. The Special Brunel Jury Prize was awarded to Danish Railways.
For a full list of prizewinners contact:-
Andreas Heym, Secretary of The Watford Group at watfordgroup@sncf.fr